The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Hello again! Are you still there? September 4, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 2:30 am

Hello, reader.

I was overwhelmed and I had to take a few steps back. So I stopped posting. I love writing and I love this blog but for a season, it just didn’t rank high enough in the priority list. For a while, I needed to step back and focus where I was needed most. There are seasons like that and that’s okay. But I missed this. I missed you, reader. I missed the clicking of the keys as I type and the need to grab a sticky note for jotting quotes as I read to the kids.

Now, I’m no less busy than I was a year or six months ago. In fact, I may be busier than ever. But I am healthier and more capable of dealing with the many plates I juggle. So I’m back.

Let’s begin again where we began before, “In the great green room, there was a telephone…”

When I started this little blog, I was reading Goodnight Moon to my son. and he was an infant. Now he is four years old. We read chapter books to him now. But he still loves to hear the books he knew as a baby when we read them to his baby sister. And Goodnight Moon still has the power to calm their mama like nothing else. The cadence of those words slows my heart rate every time and I feel myself letting go.

So good night to-do list and household chores.

Good night to the loud neighbors next door.

Good night dirty socks.

Good night clocks.

Good night to the thing that’s been keeping me awake.

Good night to the calendar and the plans that we make.

Good night stars. Good night air. Good night noises everywhere. 

(from Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown)

And, for those of you who don’t have young children and may not have a copy of Goodnight Moon to calm you: http://youtu.be/9yu_g5x3ZoQ

 

One Response to “Hello again! Are you still there?”

  1. Jon Says:

    Love this


Leave a Reply

