The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The more you learn October 12, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 4:37 pm

The more that your read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go. (from I Can Read with My Eyes Shut! by Dr Seuss)

Oh, my goodness. I cannot believe how long it’s been since I’ve blogged. I’m so sorry. I will try, try, try to get back on track. Thank you for your patience. I’ve been busy with many things (most notably, my two small children) and I just wanted to hop on over here to the blog and tell you about one of them.

I’ve mentioned before that the thing I’m most embarrassed about is that I didn’t go to college. After I admitted that here on the blog, I had some very kind encouragement from some of my amazing friends. Sometimes it’s really good to just say the things that weigh on you, especially if you have really good friends. Anyway, I’ve thought about going back to school a couple of times, even went as far as taking the ACT and going through the admissions process at a local university several years ago. But when I saw how much it was going to cost, I just couldn’t do it. I love to learn. I love to read. I would love a college education just to be a better citizen, a good conversationalist, a smarter mama. But I’m not planning on earning any money as the result of a degree, so the extreme expense of a college education is just not okay for my situation. I would much rather save what extra money I can scrape up for my kids to go to college.

So, what’s a mama to do when she wants to learn and have the value of education but doesn’t need the expense or even the degree? Enter Open Culture. Have you heard of this, reader? From OpenCulture.com, you can follow links to HUNDREDS of FREE online courses from top universities. You do not earn credit for these courses, but you can watch all of the lectures for free and have free access to all course materials. I am taking a course on the American Revolution from Yale and was able to find all of the books for the course at my public library. It’s so much fun. My husband has even started watching the lectures with me some evenings after the kids are in bed.

I was so inspired last year by my friend Amy, and her family. When her son, Liam, was fighting leukemia, they decided to do three things every day. 1. Learn something. 2. Make something. 3. Love somebody. How amazing is that? Her family’s story has inspired a lot of people, including me. I have tried to be much more intentional about loving people. I am enjoying this Open Culture approach to learning. As far as making something? We’ll get there. I believe so strongly that we should never stop learning, so if you are in a place where you just need a learning boost, try Open Culture. You’ll love it.

 

One Response to “The more you learn”

  1. Aunt Connie Says:

    I was (almost) jumping with excitement when I read your blog…..I think it was my heart that was leaping:) I’m going to look into these courses. You know that I’ve been taking quilting courses online for a couple of years, and I’ve loved it! I love you and miss you! I still don’t get out as much as I’d like, but maybe I can come by and see you, Ben, and June sometime soon:)


Leave a Reply

