The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Finally feel it August 13, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 10:20 pm
Tags: ,

Numbing the pain for a while will make it worse when you finally feel it.  (from Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling)

I wanted to apologize for not writing regularly. For writing hardly at all lately. It has been a hard summer and I’ve been dealing with some degree of depression and anxiety which is a fairly new thing for me. I realize, however, that reading children’s literature and writing about it here, actually gives me a creative outlet to feel what I need to feel and process it in a healthy and healing way. So, expect to see more posts.

 

4 Responses to “Finally feel it”

  1. ashley Says:

    Kristi, this quote hits me deep in the heart today. I was packing my apt this afternoon and H ventured upstairs. I had not been up there in over a month, but had to follow her. Mom came and took her back down stairs, but I couldn’t leave it. I had to sit in my rocking chair and hold his blanket close so I could smell him, and let the tears flow for the first time in over a week. Every time I feel like I’m “moving on,” and can put the pain behind me, something happens to put it right back in my face. Nothing makes it better, and when it’s numb for a while,it really is worse when you feel it again. Today was hard. Thank you for reminding me to keep feeling and not trying to be numb.

    • Kristi Says:

      Ashley, Ashley. What can anyone say? I don’t think anyone can really know how you feel or the depth of your pain. You will always be Ezra’s mommy. You will always feel it. My prayer is not that you will “move on” but that you will heal deeply and that that place where you always feel it will be someday something beautiful. Nobody expects you to be past it. Nobody. Don’t expect it of yourself. H is so lucky to have you as her mommy.

  2. Ann Says:

    Kristi,
    This is the first comment I have posted, although I have read and appreciated your quotes/posts for a couple of years. I am sorry for your difficult times. I hope for happiness ahead for you.
    You have made a difference in the lives of others….so keep that in your heart and mind.
    Ann


Leave a Reply

