The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Broken July 12, 2012

Filed under: Chapter Books — Kristi @ 9:48 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

All living things have a heart. And the heart of any living thing can be broken. (from The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo)

Two months ago I had a baby girl and on the same day a friend of mine had a baby boy. June and Ezra–we called them birthday buddies. It was so much fun to compare notes on everything, to be next door hospital room neighbors, to see so many similarities between our sweet babies. On Tuesday afternoon, Ezra passed away suddenly. I can’t really write about it but I can’t really think about anything else. It’s like lightening striking the house next door–so close to home I can feel the heat and the shock  and smell the burning wood. Yesterday I went to see my friend, Ezra’s mommy, and I saw a home full of broken hearts. If you pray, reader, will you pray for them?

 

8 Responses to “Broken”

  1. The loss of a child is devastating. I will offer heartfelt prayers for small comforts in the midst of the pain and grief.

  2. Marisa Says:

    So unbelievably heartbreaking. All my well-wishes and good thoughts are going for your friend and her family!!

  3. Praying for Ezra’s family.

  4. Sandi Says:

    Oh, I’m so sorry. Praying for Ezra’s family and for you and your family as you walk through this incredible grief with them.

  5. Bethany Estrada Says:

    I know Ashley from pit in high school band, but probably haven’t seen or talked to her since. I have a 7 mo old boy though and Ezra & Ashley is all I can think about since I read that fb post. I feel such anguish over this so I know that you being close to her your feelings are that much more amplified. I know too that Ashley will probably feel heartbreak every time she sees June for some time. Just from your blogs that I read last night I can tell that you are a godly woman and awesome mother. I just hope that Ashley will be able to lean on you and her friends like you during this most painful of times. I will be thinking and praying for her and you continuously

  6. Angela Says:

    I am so often touched by the daily Childrensbookquotes; sometimes in surprising ways. When I read this, it was among many of your quotes I had saved-up to read later and I was reading them to my 10 year old son who can’t get enough. We were both so sad. My son wanted to lift your spirits by saying this: Even though we are not sure which baby is Ezra in the photo, the one baby has a ‘sweet afro’! We DO pray and will say a prayer for Ezra’s angel wings and for his family to feel their breezes. Peace. Angela & Daniel

  7. Rachel Says:

    I will too. i know i’m late here, but this touched me today.


Leave a Reply

