The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Monday’s bad rap May 21, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 2:49 pm

Monday is like a spelling test that your teacher has just passed out, and you haven’t had time yet to make any mistakes. It’s like a blank piece of art paper that you haven’t messed up. Monday is like the second after your teacher asks you a mental math question in front of the whole class–but you haven’t given the wrong answer. Yet. Any good thing can happen on a Monday! (from Ellray Jakes is NOT a chicken! by Sally Warner)

Finally, someone who feels the way I do about Mondays! I have always said that Monday is the best week day. (I’m not going to be crazy enough to try and pit it against a glorious weekend day–that wouldn’t be fair.) It’s full of possibility–this could be the best week of your life. When you get to Monday, you’ve had the whole weekend to rest and recreate, so you should be feeling pretty good. It’s like a mini-version of New Year’s Day, if you allow it to be. I’ve never understood why people seem to hate Mondays, to dread them and drag through them. To me, the hard week days are Wednesdays and Fridays–those are the days I always seem to get so tired, when the week is old and I haven’t had the rest that the weekend brings. Wednesday is like the middle of the spelling test, when you know you’ve gotten some words right and some wrong and there’s still time on the clock. Friday is like when you hand in the test, knowing it’s not perfect, hoping it’s good enough, sighing with relief and also fatigue. Both are good in their own way. But not as good as Monday.

 

By the way, I’ve had this quote in mind to write about for three weeks now but every time I forgot about it until at least Thursday! I couldn’t post about Mondays on Thursday, so I just skipped it. If you’re still reading this blog, despite my lack of regularity in writing, thank you! I promise I haven’t abandoned the blog, or you fantastic readers of it. I did have a baby a little over two weeks ago, though. And I’ll tell you this–nothing changes your life like having a child, except for having another one! It has rocked our world and just as soon as I get more than two hours of sleep in a stretch, I’ll be sure to write about it here. Thanks for reading. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

