The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Confidence is ignorance March 18, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Shanna @ 4:15 pm

Confidence is ignorance. If you’re feeling cocky, it’s because there’s something you don’t know. (from Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer)

When I’m writing papers, this is usually how I feel. I’m a raving perfectionist, and I’m always convinced that I’ve missed something I should have read or researched or included. It’s something that has made my academic life much harder, because I inevitably do way more than is ultimately necessary, and also better, because I also inevitably do pretty good work. Now, here’s the problem. This paper I’m working on right now? I feel pretty confident. Which has me wondering what I’m missing . . .

 

2 Responses to “Confidence is ignorance”

  1. soosieq Says:

    Maybe you’re missing the fact that you actually do know a whole lot, and any specific gaps in your knowledge can be guessed at based on what you do know. Mostly, you might be overlooking the fact that you’re kind of a genius.

    Or perhaps its that you misspelled the main character’s name throughout your paper.

  2. Saa Romain Ogglioness Says:

    Because you’re such a perfectionist, Shanna, I would say that if you’re confident it means that you have NOT FORGOTTEN A THING. Take it from me.


Leave a Reply

