The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Leprechauns March 17, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Shanna @ 5:34 pm

Well, leprechauns. You know they’re not real, don’t you? (from Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer)

Beannachtaí na Féile Pádraig oraibh! That’s happy St. Patrick’s Day to you non-Irish speakers. Which I know is probably all of you, and that is exactly why I’m foisting that lovely language upon you. I love St Patrick’s Day mostly because it’s a day when everyone thinks about how awesome Ireland is. Since I study Irish literature, I spend a fair bit of time thinking about how awesome Ireland is (and especially how awesome Irish writers are). And Ireland is one of my favorite places in the world, second only to Texas. Normally, I celebrate this day by cooking and eating delicious Irishy things, but I don’t have time to do that today because I’m working on a paper that’s due tomorrow. Well, at least it’s about James Joyce’s novel Ulysses; if I’m going to spend the holiday writing, it may as well be focused on Ireland’s most important writer.

And the quote today comes from my favorite Irish children’s novel series, Artemis Fowl. Enjoy! Oh, and in case you’re still trying to sound out the author’s first name, it’s pronounced “Owen.” Betcha didn’t know Owen was an Irish name, did you?

 

Leave a Reply

