The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Grown-ups never understand January 10, 2012

Filed under: Chapter Books,Classics,Picture Books — Kristi @ 12:05 am
Tags: , ,

Grown-ups never understand anything for themselves, and it is tiresome for children to be always and forever explaining things to them. (from The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery)

I didn’t understand that being the best mom possible would mean learning the truth that there is no such thing as a perfect mom.

I didn’t understand that it wouldn’t be my job to teach him patience; it would be my job to learn it by being his mom.

I didn’t understand that trains are more important than schedules, that dinosaurs will never be extinct in the minds of little boys, or that bacon is the real magic word.

I didn’t understand that the first tucking-in doesn’t always take. I didn’t know that sometimes you just have to say goodnight five more times with kisses and prayers.

It seems I rarely understand anything for myself and Benjamin is always and forever explaining things to me.

 

5 Responses to “Grown-ups never understand”

  1. amanda Says:

    love this one!

    my boys cheer when we get stopped by the train. i’ve learned to be happy when we see the train coming. they get so excited!

  2. Brenda Says:

    Oh how true this is. I have learned as much as Katie has in the last five years.

  3. Kristi Says:

    Yes, Brenda-Ann! I think I’ve learned even more than Benjamin has. 🙂

  4. yonorris14 Says:

    Thank you for this. Sometimes I need to stop and think like my children. This is humbling.


Leave a Reply

