The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A daughter December 21, 2011

Filed under: Classics — Kristi @ 10:03 pm
Tags: , , ,

Years rolled on again, and Wendy had a daughter. This ought not to be written in ink but in a golden splash. (from Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie)

Yesterday I had a sonogram and discovered that we are having a baby girl. I have loved being mama to a little boy, but something about a girl is just so exciting. I haven’t really been able to put my finger on it, but today I read an article in my MOPS Momsense magazine that may hold the key. The article was by Carol Kuykendall about fun being a family value. She says, “If we live out our average life expectancy, we will spend twice as many years as adults together with our children as we do when they are living at home with us.” She goes on to talk about forging the kinds of relationships with our kids that will cause them to want to be our friends when they enter adulthood.

I think that’s what it is about a daughter–it’s a chance to grow your own best friend. I can share with her the books, recipes, movies, jokes, values, and experiences that I love in hopes that she will love them too. I love my son and I have so much fun with him. I hope he will be my friend when he’s all grown up (tear!) too. But, God willing, my daughter and I will one day be women together, understanding things that men cannot.

I’m so glad she’s a girl. I think I would have been really relieved if we had heard “boy” yesterday just because I already have all the boy stuff and kind of know what to do now. And I think sometime a while back I started thinking of myself as a “mother of boys,” probably because I babysit my nephew five days a week while also caring for my son. I could just picture myself with three boys in the end. So it took a little while for the “girl” news to settle in with me yesterday. But once it did, it was like a golden splash.

When is too early to start her on Anne of Green Gables? And is there a 12-step program for Pinterest addiction? Because the girl stuff on Pinterest is so darn cute I can’t even stand it.

 

 

5 Responses to “A daughter”

  1. Marisa Says:

    IT’S NEVER TOO EARLY! My little girlies just got their first needle work kits this Christmas, so we can make all their Pinterest board favorites!! 😀 YAY, I’m so happy for you! Little girls are so, so fun! and I have never appreciated my own mother as much as I do now that I’m living the crazy thing that is the mother/daughter dynamic. 🙂 enjoy! ~Marisa

  2. karen Says:

    krisiti,
    how very exciting!!!
    i love the words you used; ‘like a golden splash’.

    so happy for you!
    xoxo

  3. Amy Grubbs Says:

    This was the sweetest post, Kristi! I used to dream about sharing a love of Shakespeare with a daughter — staying up until all hours of the night reading at the kitchen table. 🙂 Also, because I’m pretty sure I’m part Wendy, I loved the quote! Blessings on your pregnancy and the beginnings of your new friendship!

  4. amanda Says:

    oh how exciting! congratulations : )

  5. Kristi Says:

    Thanks, girls! I’m so excited about my daughter!


Leave a Reply

