The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

One little seam after another November 30, 2011

Filed under: Chapter Books,Classics — Kristi @ 11:26 am
Tags: , , , , ,

It’s just one little seam after another and you never seem to be getting anywhere. But of course I’d rather be Anne of Green Gables sewing patchwork than Anne of any other place with nothing to do but play. (from Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery)

I am, once again, infected by dangerously high piles of laundry. It’s gotten so bad that I can no longer ignore it. We went camping a week and a half ago and I just put the laundry from that trip in the washing machine. That’s how behind I am. We went to Ft. Worth for a wedding three weeks ago and the dresses I took and didn’t wear are still hanging in the garment bag I packed them in. I really don’t know how I let it get this bad except that I honestly never knew a person could feel this tired. The next person who asks me to do anything, be they child or adult, can expect to see some tears. I am completely overwhelmed. And while I am working my way through the laundry piles, I can hear the children making toy piles elsewhere in the house. So piles are everywhere and it seems I never get anywhere.

But, Anne of Green Gables is a good reminder for me today. I would still rather be Kristi of this home and this family with piles of work and a baby in my womb sapping my energy than Kristi of any other place with nothing to do and no one to need me.

Plus my husband just brought me a Dr. Pepper (God bless that man) and I just successfully bribed my two-year-old with a caramel apple sucker so he is picking up the toy pile.

 

One Response to “One little seam after another”

  1. Shanna Says:

    Well, in general I’m happy to be Shanna here and now, applications and all. But right now, I’d like to be Shanna helping with your laundry, hanging out, laughing, and sipping Dr Pepper. That would be a great afternoon, wouldn’t it?


Leave a Reply

