The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Christmas! November 26, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Shanna @ 3:42 pm

. . . and it was always said of him that he knew how to keep Christmas well, and if any man alive possessed the knowledge.  May that be truly said of us, and all of us! (from A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens)

Hot dang, y’all! Thanksgiving is over and that means that it is officially open season on Christmas goodness! I’m listening to Christmas music and wishing I could put up my tree instead of working on a paper/personal statement/writing sample/grading/class planning/reading today. And I’m thinking about hot chocolate, hot apple cider, cookies, my mama’s truly impressive collection of Christmas decorations, being home for the holidays, giving gifts, watching the magic of the season in children’s eyes. I’m thinking about real Christmas, not just the commercial stuff that’s been up for a while now. Advent readings and Christmas carols at church. Candycanes. Giradelli peppermint bark. Twinkly lights. Cheesy/touching Hallmark Christmas movies.

I promise I won’t overwhelm you with Christmas quotes (I don’t make any promises on Kristi’s behalf, though), so don’t roll your eyes too much if you don’t share my enthusiasm. But if you do, by all means, share something your looking forward to about this season!

 

Leave a Reply

