The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Articles have wandered October 4, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 9:07 pm

It is the nightly custom of every good mother after her children are asleep to rummage in their minds and put things straight for next morning, repacking into their proper places the many articles that have wandered during the day. (from Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie)

Well, it’s been ages since I posted a quote from Peter Pan so I hope you don’t mind the indulgence. Evidently I have a lot of repacking to do in my son’s busy mind tonight. Some articles of information seem to have wandered around and gotten mixed up.

Earlier today Benjamin lifted my husband’s Bible onto a chair and opened it to the middle. He said, “I gotta read the Bible now, okay?” and turned his back to me. Very seriously, with his finger moving across the page, he said, “Jesus loves you. Jesus loves me. Wanna play the drums, Jesus? Sing some Jesus songs at church.” I grabbed my video camera to try to get some footage of this preciousness but by the time I got it turned on, he had flipped to the maps section at the back of the Bible.

When he saw the maps, and in full view of the camera, he suddenly stopped talking about Jesus and started talking about buffalo and cowboys. “The buffalo say Go! Go! Go!” he said. And, “The cowboys follow the buffalo to Frontier Texas. Where the butterflies? They’re going to Mexico!”

I should take this opportunity to explain that last Tuesday, Benjamin and I visited a local history museum called Frontier Texas which features several maps of buffalo trails, video hologram guides representing famous settlers, cowboys, Native Americans, and pioneer women. Some of the buffalo trail maps have buttons that Benjamin enjoyed pushing to make them light up. I guess the maps of the ancient Middle East in the back of Jon’s Bible didn’t look much different to a two-year-old than the frontier trail maps at the museum.

Also, our town is fortunate enough to be right in the path of the monarch butterflies’ annual migration. For the past week or so we have seen thousands of the beautiful butterflies all over town. The garden in front of Frontier Texas must have several butterfly-friendly plants because there were tons outside of the museum when we left. Benjamin wanted to go touch a life-size statue of a buffalo and butterflies were all over it. I told him the butterflies are going to Mexico to stay warm because they know it will be cold when winter comes.

I have very little idea of how to correct my son’s confusion in thinking cowboys and buffalo feature in the Bible. But I’m not too worried about it.

 

 

One Response to “Articles have wandered”

  1. Shanna Says:

    Why does everything you say about Benjamin make me love him more and more?


Leave a Reply

