The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Rain September 25, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Shanna @ 7:12 pm

I get everything all beautifully planned out and it has to go and rain. (from Charlotte’s Web by E B White)

I was saving this quote for a rainy day. Literally. But there are a lot of rainy days up here (I’m not saying that to brag, Texas folks, it’s just a fact), and it has yet to ruin any plans of mine. But I did have this fantastic weekend planned out. It involved getting done most of my reading for next week’s classes, grading students’ assignments, intensive studying for the GRE (which I’m taking tomorrow), cleaning my embarrassingly dirty apartment, maybe even laundry. Not glamorous, I know, but what can I say? I’m a graduate student. Getting caught up or even ahead on work is a dream come true. Anyhow, big plans. And then my body decided to play hijinks on me, and I came down with a cold. A stupid cold. And not only did it inhibit my productivity, but I couldn’t even be properly miserable or take a proper sick day (complete with movies and lots of sleep and general mindlessness) because I had to at least get some reading and studying done.

Have I elicited your sympathy? I hope so, because now I’m apologizing for not posting yesterday. It just slipped my cold-fuzzy mind.

 

Leave a Reply

