The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Dark and Stormy August 27, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Shanna @ 5:15 pm

It was a dark and stormy night.

In her attic bedroom Margaret Murry, wrapped in an old patchwork quilt, sat on the food of her bed and watched the trees tossing in the frenzied lashing of the wind. Behind the trees clouds scudded frantically across the sky. Every few moments the moon ripped through them, creating wraithlike shadows that raced along the ground. (from A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle)

So, there’s a hurricane making it’s way in my direction. As a native West Texan, I’ve never had to face a hurricane before, and while I’m trying to be all cool and calm and grown-up about it, I’m just a little nervous. Thankfully, it looks like it’s not going to be too bad in the Boston area, but I’m playing it safe and taking precautions like stocking up on water and non-perishables. I also took the important precaution of doing laundry so that, if I’m stuck in my apartment for a few days at least I’ll have clean underwear.

These are practical things, right? But I keep having to fight against this urge to go a little overboard. Like the voice in my head that keeps saying I should fill up ALL of my containers with water in addition to the several gallons I already have. Or the one that made me frantically bring all of my plants and other things in from my patio when it started raining hard earlier, as if that downpour meant that the hurricane was arriving about 24 hours earlier than predicted. As if I didn’t know that it was supposed to rain all afternoon. As if they winds were already whipping, which was definitely NOT the case. I felt a little sheepish after that one, and calmed down a bit.

For all of our readers who are also along the east coast, I wish you peace and safety, and I hope you’re riding out the storm with more grace than I am. Maybe I’ll just fill half of my containers with water . . .

 

Leave a Reply

