The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I solemnly swear July 15, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 1:44 pm

He took out his wand, touched the parchment lightly, and said, “I solemnly swear that I am up to no good.” (from Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling)

Have I ever mentioned how much I LOVE the Harry Potter series? Seriously, it grows from good children’s literature in the first couple of books to just plain good (great) literature by the last couple. The plot, character depth, empathy, humor and emotion can hardly be overstated in my opinion. J.K. Rowling has to be one of the great literary geniuses of our time and, as a person who shares her Christian faith, I appreciate the subtle symbolism throughout the series that shows her own character shining through. Rowling has said that she did not write these books to convert people to Christianity, but I appreciate that she did not hide her faith in the books but allowed it to have its place.

The movies are pretty good too. In celebration of the final movie coming out today, head on over to Susan’s Worth Reading  for a chance to win a copy of the first book! I especially love this contest because she asks for you to share your favorite quote from the series. If you need help with a quote, feel free to use the search box on this blog and type in J.K. Rowling or Harry Potter. You should see all quotes from the books that Shanna and I have posted here. My problem is, which quote to choose!

 

Leave a Reply

