The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Every minute July 13, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 11:53 pm

But now I know that to stay young always is also not to change. And that is what life’s all about—changes going on every minute, and you never know when something begins where it’s going to take you. (from A Gathering of Days by Joan W. Blos)

Changes every minute. If there was ever a perfect illustration of the fact that changes go on every minute, it’s the life of a child. The first time I saw an image of my son, he measured only 2 cm and he looked like a bean. Every week after that, at every ultrasound I marvelled at how much he had grown in such a short time. This rapid growth slowed only a little after he was born. When I look at pictures from the day he was born, I cannot believe he was ever so small. I can hardly remember what it was like to hold him when he was tiny.

Sometimes it makes me sad, this constant growing and changing. It reminds me that, someday, he will go off on his own. He won’t be my little baby anymore. I have said before that I sometimes think motherhood is a series of hellos and goodbyes. So many goodbyes through the years. The day he said goodbye to my womb, the day we moved him from the bassinet in our room to the crib in his, the day he stopped breastfeeding (that was the hardest by far), and now another one is upon us. Tonight, without warning, he said, “Mama, I wanna sweep in the boy bed.”

The big boy bed.

And there he is now, sleeping soundly in a bed without rails, his crib standing abandoned across the room just breaking my heart.

But though it makes me a little sad, I am glad he wants to sleep in a big boy bed. I am glad he is growing and changing every minute of every day. I love him as he is, but every time he changes he just gets better. Would I trade the soft whimpering coos of the baby he was for the hilariously sweet dialogue we enjoy now? Not a chance! I am so grateful that I got to have the coos and I get the toddler conversation. I look forward to so many more wonderful changes to come. Every minute.

I know I’ve already shared a quote for today. But I can’t seem to resist leaving you with the last stanza of Walter Dean Myers’s Love That Boy:

He got long roads to walk down
Before the setting sun.
I said he got a long, long road to walk down
Before the setting sun.
He’ll be a long stride walker,
And a good man before he done.

 

 

One Response to “Every minute”

  1. Meg Says:

    I am constantly in awe of you as a person, author, friend, and mother. This post reminds me why. I love you.


Leave a Reply

