The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Being Chairman June 22, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 7:20 pm

He wiped his face with his handkerchief, for he was quite warm from the exertion of being Chairman of the World. It had taken more running and leaping and sliding than he had imagined. (from Stuart Little by E.B. White)

 This one always brings a chuckle, followed by a sigh. Everytime I start to think I can become Chairman of the World, I get myself into trouble. It takes a great deal more running and jumping and juggling than I ever anticipate when I just get the idea that I know better than everybody and it becomes exhausting. It’s so much better just to find out what my role is and do that well. I think it’s also important to find out what my job is NOT and to just leave it alone.  But boy is that hard to do sometimes.

(If you’re interested in the $20 Amazon.com giftcard I’m giving away this week, you can sign up for it here.)

 

One Response to “Being Chairman”

  1. amanda Says:

    love this quote! i always joke, “…if I was running things…” hmmm so true


Leave a Reply

