The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Blessed in a laugh June 19, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Shanna @ 9:27 am

If you should happen, by any unlikely chance, to know a man more blessed in a laugh than Scrooge’s nephew, all I can say is, I should like to know him too.  Introduce him to me, and I’ll cultivate his acquaintance. (from A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens)

Right about now, I bet you’re thinking that I’ve lost my mind–posting a quote from the most famous Christmas book ever in the middle of June? But I promise you that I’m not crazy and also that the flow of the space-time continuum has not been disrupted. That I know of. I’ve been holding on to this quote for Father’s Day all year because it immediately makes me think of my daddy.

You see, my dad is a man who is blessed in a laugh. It’s a loud, from-the-belly kind of mirthful laugh and it’s pretty distinctive. My mom says that when they would study in the library in college, if my dad got to laughing about something people would inevitably turn up saying, “Robert! I’ve been looking for you!” Isn’t that a fantastic way to be known? And when I was a child, I would lie in my bed at night and listen for my dad’s laughter from the other room. It was the most comforting sound I knew, because what could be wrong in the world if my daddy was laughing? And you know what? I still feel that way when I hear him laughing now.

Happy Father’s Day, everyone! If you have a special memory of your dad to share, we’d love to read them!

 

One Response to “Blessed in a laugh”

  1. Melissa L Says:

    I love this! What a wonderful thing to be known for … makes me like your dad even though I’ve never met him. Happy and joy-full people rock!


Leave a Reply

