The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Try them May 31, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 9:50 pm

You do not like them. So you say. Try them! Try them! And you may. Try them and you may, I say. (from Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss)

A little over a year ago I was putting Benjamin in his car seat when I noticed a strange foot on the parking lot pavement next to me. It belonged to a man stepping out of a Jeep and he was just a normal looking man. But his feet looked like some sort of robot-hobbit mix and I had to force myself not to stare. He was wearing black Vibram Fivefingers, really weird barefoot shoes that look like gloves for your feet. A few days later I saw another person wearing them at the grocery store. About a month later, I went to the doctor and my doctor was wearing them (quite a shock–they are probably the most unprofessional looking shoes I’ve ever seen). I asked my husband if he had seen these weird shoes around town and he rolled his eyes in the affirmative. He had a facebook friend that was raving about them. I said that those would be the last shoes you’d catch me in. I couldn’t believe anyone would wear them in public. Why would you want to look like a robot-hobbit? Why?

But in an effort to lose some of this weight that I can no longer fairly blame on a “baby” who is now two, I started walking a lot and working out at the gym more. And my feet started to hurt. A lot. I had this constant pain in the arch of my right foot that only got worse and worse. I had an appointment with my doctor the day that the pain had reached its pinacle and I asked him to look at the foot while I was there. He gave me anti-inflamatories and prescribed rest. But he also put in a plug for the shoes he said saved his feet (which is a fair endorsement since he is on them probably 70 hours a week). I was so desperate that I looked them up online when I got home and they were even weirder than I remembered. The women’s ones came in all kinds of crazy colors and they were insanely expensive. I said again that I didn’t think I could ever be convinced to buy any.

When the swelling in my foot subsided, I went shoe shopping but every shoe I tried on hurt me worse than the one before it. So I gave in. I tried on the Vibram Fivefinger weirdo expensive shoes. And they were all kinds of wonderful on my feet. I went home, researched prices and found a good deal. I have been wearing them all day and my feet feel great (although I look like an avatar alien–mine are blue). I plan on wearing them mostly for working out and walking, so I guess fashion isn’t the priority.

These shoes are my green eggs and ham. I will be more careful in future what kinds of weird fads I sneer at and what things I say I will never try. If you see me looking like an avatar alien, please don’t sneer at me. My feet are so happy. I would wear them in a boat and with a goat and in the rain and on a train and in a car and in a tree. They are so good, so good, you see!

 

2 Responses to “Try them”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Read this post and looked them up. My goodness, they look ridiculous…but so do green eggs and ham.


Leave a Reply

