The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Beginning Itself May 28, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Shanna @ 1:58 pm

When I told Tillie that six steps seemed a lot to have to do before you begin, she said, “You must think of those six steps not as preparation for the beginning but as the beginning itself.” (from The View from Saturday by E L Konigsburg)

This week, I drove from Boston to Abilene, TX. I decided to drive here instead of flying so that I could bring my dog and stay longer. And you know what? I really enjoyed the trip. It took me three days to drive, but all along the way I enjoyed seeing America. There is some really beautiful country along the way, and I just kept thinking about how I would have missed it all if I had flown. And I also felt like I had the opportunity to just let my head clear after this last semester. For me, flying is all about the destination. It’s just preparation, a necessary step before my real vacation begins. But driving is the beginning for me.

 

Leave a Reply

