The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Onward May 20, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 8:53 pm

But on you will go

though the weather be foul.

On you will go

though your enemies prowl.

On you will go

though the Hakken-Kraks howl.

Onward up many

a frightening creek,

though your arms may get sore

and your sneakers may leak.

(from Oh, the Places You’ll Go! by Dr. Seuss)

Oh my, did the Hakken Kraks ever howl today! It was a leaky-sneaker, sore arm, paddle through the muddle day. One minute my toddler son and infant nephew were screaming and clinging and I thought, “Why, oh why did I have a pre-conception check-up recently? Why am I even thinkingabout having another baby?! I can’t handle it!” But the next minute they were sweetly cuddled up in my lap, snuggling their wonderful downy heads against my chest and smiling precious smiles while I sang What A Wonderful World. And I thought, “Oh my gosh, I could have about a hundred of these precious things!” And then my nephew went to sleep and Benjamin wanted me to read to him and we read so many wonderful little books. He’s really starting to understand the books better and he fills in so many words when I pause for him to. It’s just marvelous.

Then we went to the zoo and Benjamin discovered the joys of jumping in the puddles from this morning’s rain shower and the perplexity of wrinkled up toes when the wet muddy socks came off. It was fun.

But when we got home, when I lifted my nephew from his carseat, I felt how hot he  was and I saw the pathetic look on his face and I knew. The day was going downhill after this. I checked his temperature. High fever. I searched for infant Tylenol while Benjamin poured sticky pineapple juice from his lunchable all over the floor. My mom came over for our usual Friday lunch (thank goodness!) and I fixed sandwiches and tried to keep my cool while she fed the extremely fussy baby. I don’t know how he accomplishes so much in such a short span of time, but in a half hour Benjamin managed to scatter the debris of a lifetime throughout the house. I stripped him of his sticky clothes and started a load of laundry, then popped him in the bathtub and mopped up the pineapple juice while the tub filled. I put the baby gate up so no one would run in and slip on the wet floor. But, just as I finished washing my son, I heard my mom exclaim. The puking had started.

And it didn’t stop. Not for a while. I’ll spare you the rest of the details.

Anyway, in the end, even though it was a long long long long day, it’s the sweet cuddly babies that left the deepest impression. It was Benjamin filling in the words in his favorite books that made me not mind so much when the shower I finally got to take was interrupted by him throwing rubber ducks and plastic dinosaurs in at me. It’s the sweet downy wonderful smelling heads that help me go on.

 

2 Responses to “Onward”

  1. Amy Voss Says:

    Sorry you had a rough day. Glad the “good” seems to outweigh the “bad.” That cracked me up about Benjamin throwing dinosaurs and ducks at you in the shower!

  2. kristen Says:

    We read “Oh, The Places You’ll Go!” today. Really I read it out loud as Caden ran around the room, stopping every once in a while to come look at what I was reading. And Judah lay there sleeping through his brother’s chaos, in his own little blissful world.
    Sorry it was a rough day. I’m glad you can see the bright moments though.


Leave a Reply

