The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Two quotes April 10, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Shanna @ 10:05 pm

There are some things you can’t share without ending up liking each other, and knocking out a twelve-foot mountain troll is one of them.” (from Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by JK Rowling)

Sometimes small things can become very large, indeed. (from The Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan)

I’m sorry I forgot to post yesterday! It’s been a busy weekend. See, my birthday was on Friday. This was my first birthday ever away from home and family. And though I had been a little concerned about how I would feel, maybe that I would be a little blue, it ended up being a fantastic birthday that I celebrated for two days.

I have always been richly blessed in friends. And when I made the decision to move to Boston, I was deeply sad about leaving friends, and a little anxious about finding new friends up here. But I shouldn’t have worried. Soon after I made my decision, I found out that two couples I was friends with from ACU and church were also moving up here. Once we all got here, we found a few other ACU grads who had just moved this way too.

And I’ve also been blessed by some really fantastic friends at school. I enjoy them more and more every time I spend time with them, and I’m so grateful for the relationships that are forming.

And so I picked the first quote today because I want to add that, in addition to mountain trolls, friendships are quickly solidified by moving to Boston and going through grad school together.

And the second quote is, for me, about kindness. Little kindnesses can quickly become very, very large. I’m not sure that there will ever be any way for me to adequately thank my friends in either group for making me feel so special and loved on a day that could have been very lonely for me.

 

Leave a Reply

