The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Laundry February 24, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 11:28 pm

I love sitting among the heaps of warm, soft, clean-smelling clothes.

My mom folds. I try to match the socks, imagining them in Heaven:

Cries of surprise, then celebration! Joyful reunions!

(from Tap Dancing on the Roof: Sijo Poems by Linda Sue Park)

I am posting this quote in my ongoing effort to make laundry a more enjoyable task. I feel, though, that I should be completely honest with you about my laundry so here are a few confessions:

1. I almost never match up all of the socks. I start matching them up, get frustrated and then throw them all in the sock drawers, telling myself it was enough that I got them separated by who wears them. Maybe tomorrow I will try imagining them in Heaven so happy to be reunited.

2. I routinely leave a load of laundry in the washing machine long enough for it to smell less than fresh and therefore warrant another washing. By routinely, I mean probably once a week.

3. Even more routinely than the above, I leave a load of laundry in the dryer to wrinkle so that I have to “fluff” it later. The only thing that makes me remove a load from the dryer, if I’m being completely honest, is the need to put another load in.

4. Removing a load from the dryer does not mean it is immediately getting folded.

5. Folding a load does not mean it is immediately being put away.

6. I like laundry the least when I have put it off long enough that there are piles of it in various stages. When it gets to this point, I will hang up wrinkled clothes just to get them out of piles. When we need to wear them, they will be tossed in the dryer to fluff. I never iron anything except sewing projects and curtains.

7. I love laundry the most when Benjamin “helps” me. It takes forever but it is the cutest thing ever. He will pile clothes into a little basket and drag it to his room. He will “fold” clothes with the little flip-and-fold while I actually fold clothes with the big one. I will hand him wet garments from the washer one at a time and he will throw each one into the dryer, close the door, applaud, and then say, “Mama, open, peez. More laundee, peez.”

Laundry offers a lot of life lessons if you want to look for them. You always have a choice with laundry: to do it or not to do it, to do it all the way or to do it half-hazardly. It’s the same with most activities in life–exercise, for example. But I’ve aired enough of my dirty laundry here tonight (no! I take it back–it’s a bad joke. Pretend I didn’t type that!) so I won’t start on exercise confessions.

 

5 Responses to “Laundry”

  1. Shanna Says:

    Ugh, I’m no fan of laundry and I only have to do it for myself. What I hate most about doing laundry up here is a) I have to have quarters, and b) I have to carry my laundry down two flights of stairs and walk down the alley two doors and then back. What is good about laundry here (I can’t honestly say I like it) is that I can do two loads at once, and I can’t let it sit in the machines forever (I’m terrible about that), and there’s a nice folding table in the laundry room that makes it easy to just fold it right there before I carry it back and then I can usually ride my momentum to put it away immediately.

  2. Amber Says:

    I think women should set up a chore swap. I would gladly do extra laundry if someone would dust my house and wash my windows!

    • Kristi Says:

      Amber, this is the best idea I’ve heard in an age. If you’re house was closer to mine I’d say let’s swap chores now!

  3. Manda Says:

    It’s funny, I have load of laundry in the dryer as I read this. 🙂 For me, my daughter is my helper so that motivates me to follow up on each step of the laundry process. She gets impatient with me if I make her wait to help.

  4. karen Says:

    my favorite thing about the laundry is the wonderful smell of the downy lavender dryer sheets. after thousands of loads, i can say that it does get easier…and sometimes i miss those little bitty clothes from years ago!


Leave a Reply

