The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

He was. February 12, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 3:04 pm

“Is he handsome?”

Everyone looked at me. I shrugged, “Don’t know.” (I did know. He was.) (from Chasing Redbird by Sharon Creech)

Hehe. In advance of Valentine’s Day, I thought I’d share this quote that represents what I think every girl has felt at least a couple of times in life. You know, when you get to the age where you notice which boys are handsome, but you don’t want to admit it to anyone so you shrug it off when they ask. I still remember being in that stage with Jon, people asking me if I liked him, saying, “We’re just friends.” Didn’t I think he was good looking? “Sure, I guess,” I’d say. But inside, I’d say, “I love him. I want to marry him and have babies with those eyes!!!” And then I’d blush and wonder if some people really can read minds and pray that they weren’t reading mine.

P.S. My son has really beautiful blue eyes. Someday all the girls will blush. 🙂

 

2 Responses to “He was.”

  1. Shanna Says:

    I remember those days too. I remember BELIEVING you and answering that question (Are Jon and Kristi dating) with a firm “No, they’re just friends.” Clearly, I could not read minds. Or the non-verbal communication that, it seems, just about everyone else picked up on. 🙂

  2. Leika Says:

    My husband and I were friends for quite some time before we started dating, and we used to laugh and laugh when people would mistake us for a couple. Right before we started dating, I remember having those inner monologues, hoping that nobody else (especially him) noticed that I was falling for my best friend! Luckily for me, he did notice, and we’ve been married for almost two years now!


Leave a Reply

