The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Worth about a hundred points February 8, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 1:06 am

But Harry didn’t care, he wouldn’t have cared if Karkaroff had given him zero; Ron’s indignation on his behalf was worth about a hundred points to him. (from Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling)

When we were snowed in last week (a very uncommon thing to have happen in West Texas), I watched the movie Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire and was again touched, as I always am, by the strong friendship between the principal characters. I love the relationships between Harry, Ron, and Hermione in all of the Harry Potter books and just cried my eyes out in some of the final chapters of the seventh book at the culmination of their years together. Anyway, I have had this quote in my collection for a while and after watching the movie, finally decided to use it.

What I love about this is that Harry doesn’t care a jot what any one else thinks about him. He only wants his true friends to be for him. I love that. How often do we worry about the approval of people who do not care about us? People we don’t really know or have relationships with? I like that as the characters mature throughout the books, they even learn how to criticize one another in a loving and helpful way.

A couple of years ago, after suffering a miscarriage, I was anxious to get pregnant again but was undergoing testing during which my doctor recommended I take birth control. I was just whining about it one night on the phone with a friend. A lesser friend would probably have just whined right with me and said, “It’s not fair.” But she didn’t do that. She said, “Come on, Kristi. If you want instant gratification, go get a cheeseburger. Don’t you think a baby is worth waiting for?” And she was right. Now, if you’re tender-hearted you might be judging my friend too harshly here, so I’ll exonerate her. She spoke to me out of tough love, but I had no doubt it was love. This was literally months after my miscarriage, so don’t imagine that she was so bold in the raw days immediately following the trauma. And just about a week after this cheeseburger/baby conversation, on a day when I had yet another blood test, she had flowers delivered to my home with a note that read, “I hope you get your dreams.”

There is a verse in Proverbs that says, “Better is open rebuke than hidden love. Wounds from a friend can be trusted, but an enemy multiplies kisses.” I am so grateful to have friends that I can trust even with a wound.

But the Harry Potter quote reminded me even more forcefully of another verse from the Bible, and I really hope you don’t mind. I don’t often do this, but it is hard not to from time to time. In Romans 8 it says, “If God is for us, who can be against us?” And I think that’s the heart of the quote. If your true and trusted friends, or your Faithful Friend, is for you, isn’t that worth more than any points anyone else might try to take from you? Who, indeed, can possibly be against you?

 

2 Responses to “Worth about a hundred points”

  1. Amy Says:

    good post, kristi.

  2. Melissa L Says:

    Thank you for this post, Kristi. I needed it today. Very much.


Leave a Reply

