The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Freedom January 31, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 9:41 pm

Safety is all well and good: I prefer freedom. (from The Trumpet of the Swan by E.B. White)

I’ve thought about this quote a lot, and how we can become prisoners of our own fears. Safe but trapped. I could write a post about that. But this week, with the Superbowl coming to Texas, I have been thinking even more about the many children who have neither safety nor freedom. If you drive down I30, you might see a billboard with a picture of a young girl and the words, “I am a slave in the land of the free.” I am talking, of course, about the despicable sex trade and the people who are literally enslaved within it. I did not know until recently that pimps and traffickers bring underage girls into cities that host major sporting events like the Superbowl to meet the increased demand. There are wonderful nonprofits and government organizations working hard to rescue these slaves from their captors and I read today that last year they were able to liberate 45 girls during the Superbowl.

In the Declaration of Independence, we state that is a self-evident truth that ALL people are endowed by their Creator with the unalienable rights of life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. I think most of us still really believe that. But I think we are in a habit of turning away from the uncomfortable truth that more human beings worldwide are in slavery than at any other time in history. And a lot of it is sexual slavery. So I ask you to stop turning away your eyes. Look at the problem. See if there’s something you can do to help. And if you pray, pray for the children.

 

2 Responses to “Freedom”

  1. soosieq Says:

    So important. Thanks for shining a spotlight on this issue.

  2. Amy Says:

    Yes, thank you. Your post is the only thing of heard about it for this event.


Leave a Reply

