The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The monkeys looked January 24, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 11:11 pm

The peddler looked at the monkeys. They monkeys looked at the peddler. (from Caps for Sale by Esphyr Slobodkina)

I take off my scarf and leave it on a chair. Later, I see Benjamin wearing the scarf around his shoulders. He watches me put on my makeup. Later, he climbs up on Jon’s desk and gets a dry-erase marker. He writes only on his eyelids. The baby is inconsolable and I say, “Lord, help me” under my breath. Minutes later, I hear him say, “Help me” in a whisper. I drop something on my foot and say “Ouch!” He laughs and says, “Ouch!” I burn my toast in the broiler and say, “Dang it!” He says, “Dang it!” He sneezes and I say, “Bless you!” I sneeze and he says, “Bless you.”

The monkey is watching me. He is listening to me. I think I need to work on saying more “bless you”s and fewer “Dang it”s.

 

Leave a Reply

