The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

All my words January 11, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 10:15 pm

My dad listened. He held all my words in his ears. He wiped my tears. Then he held me. (from Alvin-Ho: Allergic To Birthday Parties, Science Projects, and Other Man-Made Casastrophes by Lenore Look)

I’ve mentioned before how much I love the Alvin-Ho books for their humor, but have I mentioned how much I love them for their tenderness? If you need a good laugh and a sigh of contentment in a world of hectic schedules, senseless tragedies, and looming deadlines, pick up one of the three Alvin-Ho books. You won’t be disappointed. And if it reminds you of some good things and some good people in the world, don’t be shy to say something to them.

This one reminds me of both my dad and my husband. The kinds of fathers who listen, holding your words in their ears, then hold you. Wonderful.

 

Leave a Reply

