The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Thick, Woollen Socks December 18, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Shanna @ 7:00 pm

“What do you see when you look in the mirror?”
“I? I see myself holding a pair of thick, woollen socks.”
Harry stared.
“One can never have enough socks,” said Dumbledore.
(from Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J K Rowling)

The past couple of weeks have been cold up here in Boston.  In the 20s or lower most days, and will windchill factors making it feel like the teens. Or colder.  Brrrrrr!  I know that this isn’t all that bad as far as winter temperatures go, and you’d all be so proud of me–I have commented on the cold, but I haven’t yet complained about it.  That’s a real achievement for this Texas girl.  And I’ve adjusted to the cold better than I expected.  Today, for example, when it got up into the low 30s, my friends and I were discussing what a lovely day it was to be out and about–and we meant it!  But in making that adjustment, I’ve also learned the value of the having warm things to wear, like scarves and wool socks and warm coats.  I mean, I always wore those things when I needed to at home, but now I rely on them everyday.  Some days, I’m pretty if I looked in the Mirror of Erised, I would see a pair of socks.  Or a puffer coat.  Or standing in front of a fireplace.

Wishing you a cozy weekend!

 

2 Responses to “Thick, Woollen Socks”

  1. Melissa Ledbetter Says:

    I think it is very telling that your deepest desire is not to be back in Texas or even a desire for warmer weather in Boston. Sounds like you are really settling in! 🙂


Leave a Reply

