The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

One moment November 19, 2010

Filed under: Chapter Books — Kristi @ 12:19 am
Tags:

I wished there was a way to keep that in a bottle, that one moment of wonderful perfect, so I could open it up whenever I needed to get a good whiff. (from Umbrella Summer by Lisa Graff)

When Benjamin was thirteen weeks old I went back to work for three weeks to finish out the school year before I quit to become a stay-at-home mom. I remember this one morning when I was incredibly late to work because I lingered for my one perfect moment. Jon was still dozing in bed behind me and I was laying on my side with my baby pressed up against me nursing. His little hand was stroking the soft curling hairs on the back of his little neck as he drank sleepily. After a while he rolled just slightly away and sighed a deep, satisfied baby sigh and just kept sleeping. I knew I should get up and get ready for work, but I just stayed in bed with my husband behind me and my baby in front of me, enjoying one moment of wonderful perfect. Every time I hear the song Banana Pancakes by Jack Johnson I think of that moment. A line of the song says, “When the whole world fits inside of your arms, don’t really need to pay attention to the alarm. Wake up slow…mmm…wake up slow.”

This morning I picked up Umbrella Summer at the library and I started reading it during Benjamin’s nap this afternoon. I finished reading it about half an hour ago but I needed tissues and chocolate milk to get me through the last two chapters. Beautiful book. Highly recommend.

 

4 Responses to “One moment”

  1. Shanna Says:

    I love this quote. It reminds me of the chapter in Dandelion Wine about making the wine and bottling summer with it.

    • Kristi Says:

      I hadn’t thought of that–now that you say it, I also think of the part in Dandelion Wine when he saves the snowflake in a matchbox.

  2. Aunt Connie Says:

    Hey, Friends!
    That’s too funny! I was just thinking that it was time to reread Dandelion Wine….guess that confirms it:)

    Love you both:))))


Leave a Reply

