The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

If only… October 18, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 8:56 pm

A little Consideration, a little Thought for Others, makes all the difference. (from Winnie the Pooh by A.A. Milne)

To the man who always lets his dog poop in the yard my son plays in (even though there is an nice big field with a compost pile in it right across the street!), the teenagers a block down the road who feel that everyone must hear the rap music from their enormous car speakers, the creepers who made me so terribly uncomfortable in the grocery store last night, and most of all to the bad guy who stole my friend’s purse out of her car last week: You should read some children’s books. There are tubby bears and tiny mice and orphans and fairies that you could stand to learn from.

To the woman who let me go ahead of her in line because I had a squirmy toddler, the police officer who stood up for one of our moms who was needlessly cussed at in a downtown parking lot, all of the people who scoop their own pets’ messes up instead of leaving them in our path, the Sonic employee who upgraded my drink size and gave it to me for free just because she felt my wait was longer than necessary, and the MOPS mentors who give hugs and kind words so freely to moms who are bone tired: You have something I hope the whole world sees and starts to mimic–a little Consideration, a little Thought for others. You know something, it makes all the difference. Uncommon kindness in a world that can be so crude. Generosity like an island in a sea of selfishness and greed. You are lovely. If you aren’t reading children’s books now, I’d be willing to bet someone read them to you when you were little. I just bet your mama rocked you. I bet you read Charlotte’s Web and Winnie the Pooh.

 

One Response to “If only…”

  1. Shanna Says:

    Amen!


Leave a Reply

