The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Quixotic September 23, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 9:13 pm

It may have been quixotic, but it was magnificent. (from Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie)

 When I read Peter Pan last year, I had to look up the word “quixotic” because I don’t think I had ever heard it before. Once I looked it up, I loved this quote. I have thought about it several times since then and quoted it in my head on a few occasions. In case you, like I, have never heard the definition of the word “quixotic,” here it is:

Definition of QUIXOTIC

I love the example sentences on Miriam Webster’s online dictionary:
“They had quixotic dreams about the future.”
“In this age of giant chain stores, any attempt at operating an independent bookstore must be regarded as quixotic.”
To both sentences I say, “It may be quixotic, but it’s magnificent.” To the second one I say, “You are a lone reed…” (Raise your hand if you know what I’m quoting, and I’ll know you are a kindred spirit.)
 

2 Responses to “Quixotic”

  1. Shanna Says:

    Okay, first, I didn’t know anyone used the word quixotic outside of literary critics. (I’ve never used it in a paper, for the record.)

    Second, you know my hands are raised, and I’m saying, “You are a lone reed, standing tall, waving boldly in the corrupt sands of commerce.” It’s helpful to actually be typing while saying it. 🙂

  2. Aunt Connie Says:

    Mine are raised, Sister:)))))) That’s definitely one of your favorite movies!


Leave a Reply

