The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sailed away September 3, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 8:15 pm

And  so the boy cut down her trunk and made a boat and sailed away. (from The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein)

Because so many of you mentioned this as one of your favorite children’s books, I thought I’d use it today.

I have to confess that part of me didn’t really like this book for a long time. I just thought the boy was so selfish, always taking and never giving back.

Then I became a mother.

I became a mother and I realized that there is nothing I would not give him. I would even give him the resources that will ultimately take him away from me, the wings to fly. And of course, I will hope that he will come back home in his own ways and his own time. But I will want him to fly, to sail. I would give him everything I have and what do I expect or want in return? Nothing.

When reading The Giving Tree today and thinking about it from a parent’s perspective, I remembered this:

“Or what man is there among you who, if his son asks for bread, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will he give him a serpent? If you, then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask Him!”

Thank you for reminding me to love The Giving Tree. Remember, you still have until midnight tonight to comment on yesterday’s post and be entered into the book give-away drawing.

 

2 Responses to “Sailed away”

  1. Denise Amdal Says:

    Kristi,I had forgotten about that book!When my children were young Shel Silverstein was a favorite!Austin liked Roald Dahl too!Lanae liked Ann Martin! I’m so glad they liked reading!!

  2. Pam Says:

    really really really hit home……


Leave a Reply

