The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Blog Anniversary Give-away Today! September 2, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 8:41 am

Today, in honor of our one year blog anniversary, I am giving away a few of my favorite children’s books. All you have to do for a chance to win is comment on this post. Easy. Directions will be at the bottom of the post. First, I wanted to repost the first entry I ever put on this blog one year ago today. Here is is:

“Goodnight noises everywhere.” (from Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown, Illustrated by Clement Hurd)

I have come to love putting my son to bed each night. Before Benjamin came along, we would go about the noise and rush of our lives until we felt exhausted enough to fall into bed and sleep. There was no wind down; the day slammed right into the night. Now, we have a ritual of turning down the lights, beginning to speak more softly, reading a calm story, and rocking, rocking, rocking. We are saying, “The day is coming to a close. Now it is time to rest and dream.”

There’s something very comforting and reassuring about putting to bed the noise and the concern, exchanging the rapid beat of the day for the peaceful, slowing pulse of the night. What if we, as adults, could remember how to say goodnight and let our eyelids fall heavily, like final curtains on the drama of the day? As I read, “Goodnight moon. Goodnight cow jumping over the moon” to Benjamin, he eases into dreamland without a care in the world. And a kind of bedtime magic happens in which the baby is teaching me. Teaching me how to slow down, how to be quiet and still, how to say Goodnight.

Goodnight budget. Goodnight mess. Goodnight weight gain and spit-up stained dress. Goodnight family drama. Goodnight worried mama. Goodnight to-do list and all that is unfinished. Goodnight squeaky chair. And goodnight thinning hair. Goodnight noises everywhere.

Thanks for reading that again. Now, if you want a chance to win either Stuart Little by E.B. White or Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie, do one or all of the following:

1. Comment on this post and tell me the city you live in and your favorite children’s book. If you are uncomfortable naming your city, don’t.

2. Join the Children’s Book Quote of the Day on facebook and then post another comment on this post telling me that you joined. I will work on adding a button to this page, but for now you’ll just have to search for it on facebook.

3. Write a post on your own blog recommending this blog to your friends and readers. Then post a comment here with a link to your blog.

So you have up to three chances to win. And if we reach a magic number of hits on this page by the end of the day tomorrow, I will add a third winner and a third prize. Two (or three) winners will be chosen by a randomizer Friday night at midnight Central Time. Good luck!

 

83 Responses to “Blog Anniversary Give-away Today!”

  1. Amie Hazlett Says:

    Hey Kristi, Great blog! We read Goodnight Moon with Lorelei every night. I love bedtime.

    Well, here I am in Parachute, CO! Maybe I will win a book!

    • Kristi Says:

      Thanks, Amie! Goodnight Moon is a great one. I love how the little ones just seem to instantly calm to it, don’t you?

  2. Aunt Connie Says:

    Hey, Baby! I joined your Facebook group this morning:) Love you:))))

  3. Aunt Connie Says:

    I’m Aunt Connie from Abilene, TX. I have sooooo many favorite children’s books, but today I will choose The Man Who Walked between the Towers by Mordicai Gerstein.

  4. Melissa L Says:

    Hi, I’m Melissa from Abilene. I enjoy your blog! You have a wonderful way with words. My favorite children’s book is Love You Forever. So sweet.

    • Kristi Says:

      Thanks, Melissa! Have you read any other Robert Munsch books? They are all good and if you like Love You Forever you might like his other works.

  5. Hilary Says:

    What a cool blog Kristi! I never knew about it! 😀 I love Goodnight Moon. It is one of my all time favorites and one that I try to make sure each new baby (and family) that I know have access to! And your narrative was beautiful. I needed that so bad. I think I’ll print it out and put it in my copy of GM. 🙂 I can’t wait to check out more of your posts later after work 🙂 And to join your FB group so I can get alerts when you update! 🙂 – hmm, favorite children’s book… it’s har bc there are so many that I love! Today, though, I’ll have to go with The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster. It’s been a standard longtime favorite 🙂 and I live in Midland, Tx!

    • Shanna Says:

      Congratulations on the longest response with the most emoticons! You rock, my friend!

    • Kristi Says:

      Hilary, The Phantom Tollbooth is a great book! I really appreciate your kind comments (and the emoticons!). Keep reading!

      • Hilary Says:

        Lol. Thanks Shanna 🙂 – I’m glad to know you like The Phantom Tollbooth too Kristi! And that you appreciate the comments AND emoticons 🙂 Ha ha 🙂 – You have a great blog!

  6. Adrienne gordon Says:

    My son likes a book called, I Stink!

  7. Rachael Lampkin Says:

    Joined on Facebook. I live in Fort Worth…for the next few weeks anyway, then I’ll be in Providence Village. 🙂 Favorite children’s book is Love You Forever by Robert Munsch.

  8. Heather M Says:

    I would say Goodnight Moon too. I live in Michigan!

  9. SANDY Says:

    gee I have alot of favorites- goodnight moon is one…love the little house series- love dr suess oh the places you’ll go

  10. Rita M Says:

    (Live in Central California)
    My daughter was crazy about a book from the Rand McNally Junior Elf series called Mailman Mike by Mabel Watts – it was a must read EVERY night!

  11. Misty Diane Says:

    my favorite quote of of this day is….Its a horrible, no good, terrible very very bad day!!!!!!! I need to win a book to make my frown turn upside down !!!!!!!!

  12. Dana Says:

    Our favorite books are The Bear Snores On and Goodnight Moon : ) We’re in Indy!

  13. Joy Says:

    Kristi,

    You are so creative and such a beautiful writer! Wish I had noticed your blog sooner! What a wonderful way to take what we mommies are speaking every day – the lines of children’s books – and challenge us to ask ourselves and the Lord what wisdom He would reveal for us in the same words! I love it.

    So my favorite children’s book has always been The Giving Tree. At the moment, Elijah likes a book called Hug as well as good ol’ Green Eggs and Ham. Write on, my friend! Loved the Goodnight Moon post.

  14. Diane Baum Says:

    I live in Michigan. We love Good Night Moon and The Cat in the Hat

  15. soosieq Says:

    What a great idea! Happy anniversary! My favorites are _The Little Mouse, the Red Ripe Strawberry, and the Big Hungry Bear_ and _The Giver_.

    • Kristi Says:

      I love The Little Mouse, the Red Ripe Strawberry,and the Big Hungry Bear. Thanks for the link on your blog and for joining the facebook group. Thanks for following directions,too! 😉

  16. Ed Nemmers Says:

    “Charlotte’s Web”!

  17. soosieq Says:

    Also, because I can follow directions, or at least I think I can, I joined the fb group and linked you on my blog (susansworthreading.wordpress.com). Why didn’t I link you earlier? I must have replaced that part of my brain with candy…

  18. Denise Amdal Says:

    My children loved Clifford,Dr.Suess, Harry the dirty dog,Stuart Little and so many others I cannot list them all!Love the blog!!

  19. Abilene, Winnie the Pooh books

  20. Lana Says:

    Abilene. The Little Engine that Could.

  21. Deadra Moody Says:

    I am in abilene texas….i loved the “pokey little puppy”growing up and this book where you stick your fingers thru holes for arms and legs but i have no idea what that book was called…lol and “green eggs and ham” of course

  22. Vicky H. Says:

    I’m from IL.
    My favorite book when I was a child was Mufaro’s Beautiful Daughters.

    • Kristi Says:

      Vicky, I haven’t heard of Mufaro’s Beautiful Daughters. I have it on my library list now–do you know thename of the author?

  23. Renee G Says:

    I am in Spokane WA. I love reading books that rhyme to my boys — Fox in Socks is one of my favorites.
    rsgrandinetti@yahoo(Dot)com

    • Kristi Says:

      Fox in Socks is one of my favorite books to read aloud–I love the tongue twisters and all of the great rhyme. The tweedle beedle bottle butter battle section is great!

  24. Mary Riedel Says:

    Hi Kristi! I joined your Facebook group. Of my many favorite childhood books, I especially liked anything by Steven Kellogg and Tomie de Paula. I’m in San Antonio, TX and hope to start reading to little Gavin soon – he’ll be four weeks old on Tuesday! Have a good Labor Day weekend!

  25. Page Boyd Says:

    Abilene, Texas. I loved reading when I was younger. I loved the Little House on the Prairie, Little Women, Roll of Thunder Hear My Cry, and so many more. I love the Giving Tree because my girls love it so much. Thank you for keeping our love for children’s books alive.

    • Kristi Says:

      Aww, thanks, Page. I have a big soft spot for Little House on the Prairie and Little Women. Congratulations on winning a book!

  26. Page Boyd Says:

    fb official…….

  27. Page Boyd Says:

    Once again, thank you for your blog. Check out my blog to see a little tad bit about your wonderful blog. It makes me smile to read all the quotes from some of my favorite books. http://www.theboydgang.blogspot.com

  28. Laura B Says:

    I’m in the Los Angeles area and have always loved Oh the Thinks you Can Think by Dr. Seuss. And the

  29. Melissa B. Says:

    I’m very near Baton Rouge. My kids love ‘IF you Give a Mouse a Cookie’.

    • Kristi Says:

      Melissa, I was horrified a few years ago when I learned that my husband had never read If You Give A Mouse A Cookie. This has been remedied, of course, and is one of our family favorites.
      I love seeing where everyone is from, by the way!

  30. carol Says:

    my favorite is The Hungry Caterpiller…and I live in Henderson, Nevada

    • Kristi Says:

      I must have read The Very Hungry Caterpiller to Benjamin a thousand times and it’s still a favorite. Good choice.

  31. McKim Says:

    Laramie
    My favorite children’s book is Green Eggs & Ham.
    kimkmc@yahoo.com

  32. Misty Buford Says:

    Hey, it’s Misty in Abilene. We love reading Noah a book called, “God, I’ve got to talk to you again”. It’s so sweet!

  33. Melissa L Says:

    I joined your facebook page 🙂

  34. Melanie Says:

    Memphis, and growing up I loved reading Go, Dogs, Go, by Dr. Suess.

    • Kristi Says:

      I am ashamed to say that I have never heard of this Dr. Seuss book!!! I thought I knew them all. It is on my library list. Thanks, Melanie.

  35. Hi, It’s Crystal from Iraan, TX

    My favorite childrens book is The Pokey Little Puppy (I don’t know who it’s by)

    I am also a FB fan!

  36. Amanda Says:

    Amanda in Geronimo, OK. I love your blog! It’s so inspirational and I love the quotes. They have lead me to some great books I haven’t discovered before, some books I’ve forgotten about, and some of my all time favorites. Thanks so much for that. I’d say my main favorite book is Where the Wild Things Are. I really have so many, it’s hard to choose! Now, going over to join up on Facebook. 🙂

    • Kristi Says:

      Amanda, thanks for the kind comment. I understand how you feel–there are too many great books to choose just one! Where the Wild Things Are is a great choice–I’m actually surprised more people didn’t say it.

  37. Peggy Says:

    From Texas, where it can be hot in November! My favorite children’s book today is The Gingerbread Boy by Egielski. It’s so much fun to try different New York accents!

  38. susan Says:

    I would read Good Night moon to my daughter each night she loved it! suelee1998 @gmail.com

  39. Jennifer Jozwiak Says:

    Hop on pop is my daughter’s favorite book.

  40. Annette E Says:

    Hi! This is Annette in Peoria. My favorite book is Polar Express.

  41. julia Says:

    east coast

    giving tree

    • Kristi Says:

      I think The Giving Tree wins the award for the most mentioned book on this post. Thanks for reading, Julia. I hope the weather is treating you okay there on the east coast.


Leave a Reply

