The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Wonderful Ideas August 30, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 8:41 pm

I want to say that wonderful ideas can come from anywhere. Sometimes you make a mistake, or break something, or lose a hat, and the next thing you know, you get a great idea. (from Max Makes A Million by Maira Kalman)

This week (Thursday) will mark one year of posting children’s book quotes on this blog. We have posted a quote for every day since September 2, 2009. I know of only about four quotes that have been posted more than once on this site and that makes me proud. When I began this blog, I wasn’t sure I could really find one for every day. I thought I knew there was a lot of wisdom out there in the realm of children’s literature, but I truly had no idea. Sometimes a line in the silliest of books will jump off the page and speak to something in my life. Sometimes, they’re not so much wise as just too fun not to share. I am constantly amazed at the brilliance of children’s book authors. I marvel at their ability to put things so simply, so charmingly. Increasingly, I think this this blog is a wonderful idea and I hope to keep it going for years and years.

This week I want to celebrate with you. I confess that my curiosity has gotten the best of me and I just can’t stand not knowing who you are. Who is reading this? I track the stats, so I know it’s not just the handful of you who have posted comments. I am prepared to bribe you into commenting by offering a give away this week. This is your teaser warning to keep reading for the rest of the week.

Here’s what will happen this week: I will continue to post quotes daily. Additionally, on Tuesday and Wednesday  I will tell you a little about myself and Shanna so you can get to know us better. Thursday I will offer a chance to win one of two prizes if you comment on the post. Friday night I will track the stats from the week. If we reach a certain magic number of views that I have in my head, I will add a third prize to the give-away. Saturday I will announce the two (or three!) winners chosen by a randomizer.

Thanks for reading. Please, send your friends this way!

 

7 Responses to “Wonderful Ideas”

  1. Shanna Says:

    Yay for anniversaries! Yay for giveaways! This is going to be a fun week!

  2. als88nm Says:

    Has it been a year already? That’s great! I think I’ve read all of the posts- more reading than I usually do- haha!

  3. :Lisa Stevens Says:

    Awwww…Thanks for your blog. I adore your selections and often copy and paste them to my Facebook status. Because sometimes they are just so on the money.

    FYI…I am a mom of three teenagers and miss reading night night stories. Your blog sparks that memory in my heart. Once again…thank you!

    Best wishes!

    Lisa Stevens
    Salt Lake City, Utah.
    Jetblue Airways

  4. Kelly Says:

    You guys are doing a great job with the blog! It’s such a good idea, too. Keep it up! ❤

  5. Aunt Connie Says:

    I have to be your BIGGEST fan! I’m so proud of you, Kristi and Shanna.
    Love you:)

  6. Kristi Says:

    Thanks, everybody, for reading and commenting! I love that you took the time to comment, especially Lisa and Kelly who have never commented before. 🙂


Leave a Reply

