The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Endings and Beginnings August 8, 2010

Filed under: Chapter Books,Young Adult — Shanna @ 11:40 pm

“There have been many times of last days,” he said, “and they mark not only endings but beginnings.” (from Many Waters by Madeleine L’Engle)

I had been saving this quote to use in a sentimental and dramatic way on one of my last days in Abilene.  But I’m thinking a lot about last days and endings and beginnings–really, about change and transition in general–and I’ve especially been thinking about it today.  You see, I spent the afternoon helping my friend Cathryn, who is moving to Denton this week, pack up her kitchen, and then I spent the evening helping my friends Katie and Jeremiah, who are moving to Boston, pack their belongings in a moving truck.  And as I did a small part to help these friends during their transitions, I felt very aware of all of the changes going on right now for people in my life.  It seems that a majority of the people I know are experiencing changes: new houses, new cities, new schools or school years, new children, new marriages, new jobs, new life directions, children leaving, friends leaving, family leaving or passing away.  Endings.  Beginnings.  Both, happening at the same time.  Change is hard, and it’s uncomfortable.  And it’s frightening, especially during those last days before the old has gone and the new has come.  It’s easy to forget that beginnings are beautiful and exciting.  So I’m going to remember that during these last days.  I’m going to abide in these days with the knowledge and the hope that these little endings are also the start of something new.  I’m going to savor these moments with the knowledge that the God who directs my paths is He who makes all things new, a God of creation and re-creation.

But if I happen to forget, will you remind me?

 

Leave a Reply

