The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Many Waters August 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Shanna @ 10:07 pm

“Many waters cannot quench love,” she whispered.  “Neither can the floods drown it.” (from Many Waters by Madeleine L’Engle)

This is my favorite book in the Wrinkle in Time quintet, though I cannot really articulate why.  I think the only sufficient answer is that it resonated with me.  One of the things I like most about the story is the way that L’Engle connects the verse in this quote (from Song of Solomon 8:7) with the story of Noah and the flood.  She uses the verse just a couple of times, but it stays in a reader’s mind because of the reference to it in the title.  And there’s a richness to the way she weaves it into the text, so that you feel something when you read it.  It’s textured; it doesn’t just lie flat on the page.  It’s stayed with me, and I’ve thought of it often as I’ve contemplated all of the ways that I will soon be distanced from the people I love.  It’s soothing.  It’s like a balm to remember no matter the distance, the love I have for my family and friends will not be quenched.  But what I love most about the way she uses this scripture is that I get the feeling that peeking out around the veil of this story is the message that many waters cannot quench God’s love.  That the flood that destroyed the world did not drown His love for His creation.  That nothing will every diminish His love for me.  And that leads me to think of other verses.  Like Romans 8:38-39: “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  Or this one from Isaiah 43:2, which reminded me of this quote today: “When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you.”

 

2 Responses to “Many Waters”

  1. Aunt Connie Says:

    Shanna, this was such a beautiful message of hope. Thank you:)


Leave a Reply

