The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

You can play it July 22, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 9:34 pm
Tags: ,

The best thing about history, as everyone knows, is that you can play it at recess. (from Alvin Ho: Allergic to Girls, School, and Other Scary Things by Lenore Look)

Another great thing about history is that you can play it on YouTube. I started to think the other day about the day my second grade teacher, Mrs. Salmon rolled a TV into our classroom and we watched footage of the Berlin Wall coming down. It was weeks before my eighth birthday. I haven’t been able to get it out of my mind. I remember that the teachers had tears in their eyes as they explained it to us in the simplest of terms. Later, our school got a piece of the wall and Mrs. Salmon passed it around the room so we could all hold it. Anyway, tonight I started to wonder if there were videos of those Dan Rather reports on YouTube and I was not disappointed. I found them and so many more Berlin Wall demise videos, but this one captivated me. I have watched it with a lump in my throat three times now. Enjoy.

 

Leave a Reply

