The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

a little Anxious July 20, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 1:24 pm
Tags: , , ,

“It’s a little Anxious,” he said to himself, “to be a Very Small Animal Entirely Surrounded by Water.” (from Winnie The Pooh by A.A. Milne)

I have felt like Piglet a few times, tiny and entirely surrounded by water. One time was when I was a part of a ministry that fell apart spectacularly because of sin. In one week I lost my job, several of myclosest friends, and a ministry that I felt passionately about. I allowed that time to completely defeat me in certain areas of my life. I shut down in worship and allowed fear of ministry to rob me of purpose for years. I did not discuss it with the other friends who were also going through it. In other words, I did not call on my Pooh, Rabbit, or Christopher Robin to help me. As a result, it has taken much longer than it should have done for me to pick myself up out of the pit and go one with life and ministry, to have the confidence to use that episode for good when it was meant for harm.

Another time when I felt like Piglet was when I miscarried our first baby, April Baby, in October 2007. I could have just drowned in the sorrow of it and at times I really wanted to. But this time, I did call on my friends and family and they helped to put my feet on dry ground again. Solid ground. They prayed for me. They encouraged me. They reminded me to cling to the Friend and Comforter who could really help me. The one who said this:

When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.

 

One Response to “a little Anxious”

  1. Aunt Connie Says:

    I love you, Kristi McGisty….aka Piglet (I never would have called you that, but you started it). Thank you for always being there for me:)


Leave a Reply

