The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

New breathing July 13, 2010

Filed under: Picture Books — Kristi @ 11:11 pm
Tags: , ,

It was different, going to sleep with all that new breathing in the house. (from The Relatives Came by Cynthia Rylant)

 I chose this quote to use as a recap of our weekend with family in Illinois. I was going to talk about the different kinds of breathing, the different family members, the closeness, the love, the wonderfulness of being crammed in together (especially for meals), the way I worried about Benjamin waking people, the way people who love him don’t mind being woken up, etc. I was thinking about all of this on the (long) drive home yesterday.

But then something happened that drove it right out of my head.

My sister went into labor. She had contractions all afternoon…and all night. She went to the hospital early this morning and checked in. She labored all morning. She pushed at noon. She pushed for the next two hours. She had a 8lb 10oz baby boy at 2:17pm. I got to hold him about twenty minutes later.

He’s beautiful and perfect and cuddly and sleepy. He smells good. I couldn’t think of an appropriate quote to pay tribute to such an event as a perfect nephew.

Then I remembered the quote I was going to use anyway. And I thought about Whitney and Jeremy and baby Ryder. I thought about Ryder’s deep, even breaths punctuated by little squeaks and miniscule burps. I thought of baby yawns and the way baby’s sigh really big after three sharp intakes of breath. And I decided this quote is just right. It will be very different, sleeping with all that new breathing in the house.

It will never be the same as itwas before the new breathing. Welcome to the world, Ryder!

 

Leave a Reply

