The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Reassurances of Home July 11, 2010

Filed under: Chapter Books,Young Adult — Shanna @ 11:44 pm

Meg opened the kitchen door, and there was the familiar odor of fresh bread, apples baking in the oven, and warmth, and brightness, and all the reassurances of home. (from Many Waters by Madeleine L’Engle)

This quote feels applicable today for two reasons.  One is that I am super glad to have walked through the front door to my house to be met by all the familiar things about home tonight after being away for several days.  I’m just not sure that there’s anything that feels quite as good as coming home.  As much as I love traveling and experiencing new places, one of my favorite parts is that reconnection to the familiar.  It’s an anchor of sorts.  The other reason I like this quote for today is that, if all goes well in the next couple of weeks, I’ve found my Boston home.  It’s a cute apartment that I love.  It’s the one I hoped for from the moment we walked into it.  I mean, I could have been happy at almost all of the apartments we looked at this weekend.  But this one–when I walked into, I immediately had a feeling of home.  I can’t explain it.  I can’t tell you what about the place made me feel that way.  But instantly, before I had even really walked around it, I just felt at home.  And when you’re preparing for a move a bajillion miles away from your hometown, family, friends, horses, and all of the other reassurances that make a place an anchor for your life, home is a darn good feeling to find.

 

Leave a Reply

