The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Listening to Fears July 10, 2010

Filed under: Chapter Books,Classics — Shanna @ 8:52 pm

“You have listened to fears, child,” said Aslan. “Come, let me breathe on you. Forget them. Are you brave again?” (from Prince Caspian by C S Lewis)

“A little” is Susan’s answer. I prepared this quote several days ago knowing that I might have to post from my iPhone while on the move. You see, my dad and I are in Boston looking for a place for me to live when I move here in a month or so. A month! Even as I write those words, my eyes widen and my stomach clenches a little. And in the days before this trip, I felt like I was teetering on the edge of being overwhelmed by the urgency of finding a place. Because the only thing scarier than knowing that I’m moving far away from home is not knowing where I will live when I get there. But in those moments when I am beginning to feel like it takes all my will power to stave off panic, I can also feel the still small voice of God in my heart saying, “You’ve been listening to fears. Come let me breathe on you. Forget them.” And I remember that I serve the Lord who provides, the God who sees me, and I know that He will provide for my needs as He has always done. And I feel a little braver.

 

Leave a Reply

