The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Immeasurably worse July 8, 2010

Filed under: Chapter Books — Kristi @ 12:14 pm
Tags: , ,

He thought back to how he’d felt while dodging the Horntail, and compared it to the long wait before he’d walked out to face it….There was no comparison; the wait had been immeasurably worse. (from Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling)

I am using this quote today to remind me that our fourteen-hour drive tomorrow will not be as bad as it feels like it will be. Every time we make a long drive like this, I dread it for days before hand. I have nightmares just thinking about the Oklahoma hours and how I’ll ever keep my toddler happy during all of that time in his carseat. But it is never as bad in actuality as it is in my nightmares before. Usually Jon and I have nice, lengthy conversations. When we are tired of talking, we listen to Jim Dale read on cd for a while. Benjamin will probably sleep most of the way and I will sleep a good part of the way myself. I am hoping to get some needlework done as well. It will be fine. I just keep telling myself it will be fine. It will not be like the last trip which took closer to sixteen hours due to ice. It will not be that bad. Even Oklahoma.

 

One Response to “Immeasurably worse”

  1. Amber Says:

    16 hours is still not too bad. We had an 18 hour trip turn into 24 hours because of ice. I don’t think we’ll have those problems tomorrow! And Oklahoma is not nearly as bad as Kansas, parts of Wyoming, and yes even parts of TX. Maybe we’ll see you on the road!


Leave a Reply

