The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Good manners June 28, 2010

Filed under: Picture Books — Kristi @ 9:12 pm

Grandpa taught us that good manners are very important. So today I said “good morning” to the first ant I saw. There were 600 more of them in line. I stood there all day. (from Diary of a Worm by Doreen Cronin)

This is a great little book that left me chuckling. I hope you’ll pick it up and enjoy it if you come across it. I have no deep thoughts on the subject of manners, but they are very important and increasingly rare. Recently I witnessed a  young man cutting in line at the sno-cone stand in front of my 8-month pregnant sister on a 98degree day! I honestly couldn’t believe what I was witnessing. I’m not saying you should have to greet 600 ants in a row, but come on! You can let a pregnant woman in front of you for a sno-cone….or a bathroom.

 

2 Responses to “Good manners”

  1. Amber Says:

    New freshmen are on campus for Passport this week. I saw one guy go up to EVERYONE he passed- “Hi, I’m Beau. Hi, I’m Beau. Hi, I’m Beau.” Maybe this is his favorite book!


Leave a Reply

