The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Slapped a bear June 22, 2010

Filed under: Chapter Books,Classics — Kristi @ 4:02 pm
Tags: , ,

Ma was trembling, and she began to laugh a little. “To think,” she said, “I’ve slapped a bear!” (from Little House In The Big Woods by Laura Ingalls Wilder)

In this particular episode of Big Woods life, Ma and Laura went to milk the cow in the dark and couldn’t get what they thought was the cow to move from the gate. Ma slapped the supposed cow and tried to shoo it over before the lantern light revealed that she had just slapped a bear! She was totally fearless of the bear because she didn’t know what it was. Once she realized her mistake, the gravity of the situation sunk in like a hot knife in butter I’m sure.

I can think of a few things I’ve done that were like slapping a bear. Things I’ve done that I should have been more scared of, but wasn’t because I just didn’t understand. The biggest was getting married. I married a wonderful man and I’m so glad I did (more glad all the time, in fact) but my goodness, we were just so young! I had no idea how hard marriage is, even when you’re married to the best. And to have made such an important decision at such a young age! Now I can tremble and laugh and say that I slapped a bear.

What about you? Have you ever slapped a bear?

 

One Response to “Slapped a bear”

  1. Shanna Says:

    Well, nothing as big as marriage, but I did LOADS of things on horseback as a kid that I look back on and just shake my head. It’s a wonder I was never hurt. Maybe a miracle.


Leave a Reply

