The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Complete Reassurance June 20, 2010

Filed under: Chapter Books,Young Adult — Shanna @ 2:47 pm

As she pressed against her father all was forgotten except joy.  There was only the peace and comfort of leaning against him, the wonder of the protecting circle of his arms, the feeling of complete reassurance and safety that his presence always gave her. (from A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle)

Dads are pretty good at making their kids feel safe.  I’m not sure what exactly it is, but if Dad’s around, the world is just a little less scary, and when Dad believes you can do something, it seems infinitely more possible.  When I was a little girl, I spent a lot of time lying awake in my bed at night (I was a terrible sleeper, even then).  I would listen to the sounds outside my window–sometimes scary sounds–and I would imagine shapes in the shadows of my bedroom.  And then I would hear my daddy laughing from the living room at something on TV.  He’s got a loud, mirthful, distinctive laugh, and when I heard that sound, I felt safe and reassured that there was nothing to be afraid of.  His laughter still makes me feel that way.  I’d love to hear about some of the things your dad did to make you feel comforted and safe and reassured!
Happy Father’s Day!

 

One Response to “Complete Reassurance”

  1. Kristi Says:

    My dad used to play this one song (on a record!) for us at bedtime if we were struggling with fear. Some of the words were: “It was all a dream..It was all a dream…The sounds that you heard were not real, my dear…It was all a dream…It was all a dream…Go back to sleep…You have nothing to fear.” I can still sing the entire song from memory even though I haven’t heard it in two decades. It always made me feel safe, not only in the protection from scary nighttime sounds, but also in the knowledge that my dad liked us enough to sing and dance with us. In a time of rampant abandonment by fathers, it was reassuring to have one who wanted to stay. He also taught me how to waltz (to the song “Mr. Bojangles”) and he and mom used to dance in the living room sometimes. So wonderful to see.


Leave a Reply

