The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Couldn’t be improved June 11, 2010

Filed under: Chapter Books,Classics — Kristi @ 2:39 pm
Tags:

It’s the first thing I ever saw that couldn’t be improved upon by imagination. (from Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery)

Today is Anne Day, in which kindred spirits unite to watch Anne of Green Gables and Anne of Green Gables the Sequel, drink raspberry cordial, and eat lots of pretty and sweet foods. Just now we are taking a break between the movies to visit and snack and, in my case, post this quote. I’ve asked all of the Anne Day girls to weigh in on the first things they ever saw that couldn’t be improved upon by imagination.

The first thing I ever saw that couldn’t be improved upon by imagination was my wedding dress. I couldn’t imagine ever feeling more beautiful and special in any other dress. Since then I’ve seen a few other things that qualify: my son when the doctor first held him over the c-section curtain, my son’s first smile and laugh and steps…

Laura said her babies were the first. Amy said Florence. Shanna said her horse, Tigger, when she was fourteen years old. Trish said a softball field.

For Anne it was The Avenue, or “The White Way of Delight.” What was it for you?

 

One Response to “Couldn’t be improved”

  1. Aunt Connie Says:

    The moment my grandson BLAZEd into my life…..absolute joy:)


Leave a Reply

