The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Strange adventures and getting wet May 26, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kristi @ 8:50 pm

Strange adventures, and getting wet, and carrying on alone and that sort of thing are all very well, but they’re not comfortable in the long run. (from Finn Family Moomintroll by Tove Jansson)

Well, I’ve never (yet!) read Finn Family Moomintroll, but this quote was just perfect for today. Benjamin and I have had a very strange and fun day. This morning, while I cleaned up the kitchen after breakfast, Benjamin discovered the joy of basking in the sunlight streaming in from the window. He just splayed out on the kitchen floor in the spot of sunlight and rested while the clothes dryer vibrated the floor. I thought, “It seems like this is going to be a nice, relaxed day.” <<<Insert laughter here>>>

I thought about saying, you’ll never guess the things we saw today, but that’s silly. It would be much more fun to give you a chance. Which of the following do you suppose we saw while selecting produce this morning at the grocery store?

A. A woman with a boa constrictor wrapped around her middle under her jacket.

B. A high school marching band (complete with flag twirlers) marching and playing.

C. A man (in chaps) with what I’m pretty sure was a real gun in his holster.

D. A man with a foil hat and a t-shirt that said, “They’re coming.”

What do you think we saw? Guess in the comment section, or in your own head. I’ll tell you the answer tomorrow.

This evening, our Bible study ended with the sound of thunder and sudden rain. As I looked out of the door to the rain coming down in sheets, I actually thought, “I wish my husband was here because I’ll probably look kind of cute and sexy running through the rain in my dress. It will be like a movie moment.” <<<<insert laughter here>>>> It was not cute. I was drenched in a non-movie star way. I lost my sandal in a huge (mucky) puddle and had to run back for it. I also lost my cell phone in the puddled parking lot, but didn’t realize it until a kind lady called my husband at the number saved as “honey” in my phone.

Anyway, all of this to say that strange adventures, and getting wet, and things of that sort are all well and good, but not comfortable in the long run. It was a fun day, but I’m extremely relieved to sink into a warm bubble bath with a good book that I’ve read a hundred times and counting. Comfortable.

 

3 Responses to “Strange adventures and getting wet”

  1. Shanna Says:

    So, maybe it was a run to the car in a romantic comedy sort of way? I’m pretty impressed that your phone was not damaged by the puddle!

    I’m guessing C. This is West Texas, after all.

  2. Aunt Connie Says:

    I guess:
    ALL of the ABOVE:)))))))

  3. Amber Says:

    Part of me wants to guess C also because of the way you worded it, but the other part of me thinks you want to trick us into guessing C. If it’s A or D- that’s just entertaining. And if it’s B, I wonder how loud it must have been to have a marching band in the produce section!


Leave a Reply

