The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The advantages of being disorderly, or, What a baby can teach a mama May 13, 2010

Filed under: Chapter Books,Classics — Kristi @ 9:07 pm
Tags: , , , ,

One of the advantages to being disorderly is that one is constantly making exciting discoveries. (from Winnie The Pooh by A.A. Milne)

I have a way that I like to do things. I have always thought my way was a pretty good way the right way. How many times in our first year of marriage did I tell my husband he was loading the dishwasher wrong, or mixing the pancakes wrong, or putting his seatbelt on out of order?! Oh, dear. We’ve come a long way. But never have we come as far before as we have come since the arrival of Benjamin.

Benjamin is a Pooh Bear through and through. He is sweet as honey, loving, loyal, hungry all the time, and a bit disorderly. Not totally disorderly, mind you. He has a healthy dose of his mama in him. He already likes certain things a certain way. But he’s disorderly in the way all little boys are. I have not been surprised by this. I expected it. I expected to clean up messes as a mama. I expected to have food on the floor and in my hair. I expected dirt under his fingernails and toenails. I even expected that he might try to eat a bug. What I did not expect was how much fun it can be to be disorderly. I simply didn’t see it coming.

Exciting discoveries are just everywhere! Today, I let him “help” me with the laundry. It took twice five times as long. I took the towels out of the washing machine and put them in a laundry basket. I tossed one or two washcloths into the open dryer. He watched me. Then he grinned and started picking up wet towels and pushing them into the dryer. I clapped for him. He clapped for himself. I was about to congratulate myself on starting this wonderful life skill so early. I thought, man will his future wife ever thank me!  Then he leaned into the dryer and started grabbing towels and washcloths out, dragging them around the room, and eventually putting them back into the basket. It took a long time to do the laundry today. But, gosh it was fun to watch him!

I have learned a lot from my son. I hope he will learn a lot from me. But I also hope he will make exciting discoveries throughout his life. I hope he won’t play it too safe. I hope he’ll be just a little disorderly from time to time, so he can remember the first lessons of life. Like how far you can launch corn from a spoon.

 

One Response to “The advantages of being disorderly, or, What a baby can teach a mama”

  1. Shanna Says:

    I love this post. Love.


Leave a Reply

