The Children's Book Quote of the Day

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Carry it WIth You May 9, 2010

Filed under: Chapter Books — Shanna @ 9:56 pm

The adventure is over. Everything gets over, and nothing is ever enough. Except the part you carry with you. It’s the same as going on a vacation. Some people spend all their time on a vacation taking pictures so that when they get home they can show their friends evidence that they had a good time. They don’t pause to let the vacation enter inside of them and take that home. (from From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg)

Okay, so this doesn’t look like a Mother’s Day quote.  I know, but stay with me a minute.

I know what Konigsburg is saying here.  I’ve been on those trips with people for whom it seemed that snapping the right photos was more important than actually enjoying the things they were snapping pictures of.  I’ve probably been guilty of it myself.  And I think that sometimes we go through life in much the same way, so focused on trying to get ahead or making plans or working toward some distant goal that we forget to just soak up the moments.  I’m not a mother, but mothers I know are always saying how their kids grow up too fast.  As a daughter, I know that the time I have with my mom is precious.  So I guess what I’m saying is, moms, soak up the moments you have with your kids and carry it with you.  And kids, do the same.  I think of Luke 2:19, in which we get an insight into Mary’s life as the mother of Jesus.  It says, “But Mary treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart.”

Anyhow, happy Mother’s Day to all you mothers out there!

 

One Response to “Carry it WIth You”

  1. Shana Says:

    I’m the mother of six boys and I like this post very much. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

